Things that make me angry…

I was at Eau Claire this afternoon with my mom, buying books at the Benny the Book Worm book sale.  We stopped at Paper Root Studio to get a birthday card (and so that my mom could sneakily buy me an Emily the Strange lockable diary.  Mom, you are the best.)

I found a card that said this:

“East vs. West

Eastern philosophy tells us to live in the present.

*inside*

Western philosophy tells us to open the present.

Happy Birthday!”

The thing that makes me angry about the card is the clear privileging of the “Western philosophy” and the dismissing of the “Eastern philosophy” as well as the oversimplification and the fact that it insists on a clear-cut binary that just does not exist in those black and white terms.

Am I over-reacting?

~ by Gloom Fairy on June 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “Things that make me angry…”

  1. I don’t think you’re over-reacting at all! It’s those kinds of small messages that gang up and assault us everyday. We’re so bombarded with those kinds of messages that it takes someone in-tuned to pick those up indeed.

  2. Yes, I think you are overreacting. I saw the same card and thought it was funny…and I didn’t think it privileged one worldview over another at all. If anything, it occurred to me as a form of self-deprecating humor ^against^ western philosophy.

Leave a Reply

 
